Young Scientists' Awards again go to scientists at the Institute of Sustainable Systems Engineering (INATECH)

Every year, the Eva Mayr-Stihl Foundation awards prizes for the promotion of young scientists for their master's theses and dissertations from the Albert Ludwig University of Freiburg in the field of sustainability research. This year, at the ceremonial Opening of the Academic Year 2022/23 on October 19, three theses from the Institute of Sustainable Systems Engineering (INATECH), which were written in cooperation with the Fraunhofer Institute for Solar Energy Systems ISE, were awarded for their excellence.

For his outstanding dissertation on „Perovskite photovoltaic modules with a very low CO2 footprint: The in-situ technology“, Dr. Lukas Wagner received the Eva Mayr-Stihl Young Scientists‘ Award. Ai-Lin Chan was awarded the Robert-Mayr Young Scientist‘s Award for her master's thesis entitled "Analysis of the influence of conditioning procedures on PEM electrolysis cells via impedance spectroscopy". Pedro Vieira Rodrigues also received this award for his master's thesis on " The doping dependance of BH-pair formation and light and elevated temperature-induced degradation“.

"We are very happy for our young scientists that their research has received this recognition," says Prof. Dr. Stefan Glunz, Professor at INATECH of the Faculty of Engineering at the University of Freiburg and Division Director for Photovoltaics Research at Fraunhofer ISE. "The three prizes also show that the collaboration between the University of Freiburg and Fraunhofer ISE is very successful."

Last year, young scientists from INATECH were also awarded the Foundation's Young Scientists' Awards.

The Eva Mayr-Stihl and Robert-Mayr Young Scientists‘ Awards were established as part of the Eva Mayr-Stihl Foundation's support for INATECH. The donors were keen to provide direct support not only for the institution but also for promising researchers.

Photo description: Presentation of the Robert Mayr-Stihl and Eva Mayr-Stihl Young Scientists‘ Awards. From left to right: Prof. Dr. Kerstin Krieglstein, Rector of the University of Freiburg, the award winnners Dr. Lukas Wagner, Pedro Vieira Rodrigues, Ai-Lin Chan and Katharina Edlinger from the Eva Mayr-Stihl Foundation.

To the press release of Fraunhofer ISE:

Kerstin Steiger-Merx
Referentin PR/Marketing
Technische Fakultät
Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg
Tel.: 0761/203-8056
E-Mail: steiger-merx[a]